Leadership Counsel Named in Abilify Mass Tort Litigation

abilifyUS District Judge M. Casey Rodgers appointed plaintiff and defense leadership committees in the new MDL 2734, In re: Abilify Products Liability Litigation, Case No. 3:16-md-2734, in the Northern District of Florida.

He also set a science day on Feb. 23, 2017, when the parties make presentations explaining the science behind litigation. He invited New Jersey Superior Court Judge James DeLuca to attend. DeLuca is presiding over NJ state Abilify litigation.

To date there are 48 actions filed in the federal MDL against Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. and Otsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc. Plaintiffs allege that Abilify, an atypical anti-psychotic medication commonly prescribed to treat schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, depression, and Tourette syndrome, can cause compulsive gambling behaviors.

The lawsuits involve factual questions relating to whether Abilify was defectively designed or manufactured, whether defendants knew or should have known of the alleged propensity of Abilify to cause compulsive gambling behaviors in users, and whether defendants provided adequate instructions and warnings with this product.

For more information read FDA Links Abilify to Compulsive Gambling, Eating, Shopping and Sex

Plaintiffs’ Committee Structure

Plaintiffs’ Co-Lead Counsel:

Kristian Rasmussen
Cory Watson, P.C.
2131 Magnolia Avenue South, Ste. 200
Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone: (205) 328-2200
Email: Rasmussen@CoryWatson.com

Gary L. Wilson
Robins Kaplan LLP
800 LaSalle Avenue
Suite 2800
Minneapolis, MN 55402
Telephone: 612-349-8500
Email: GWilson@RobinsKaplan.com

Plaintiffs’ Liaison Counsel

Bryan Aylstock
Aylstock, Witkin, Kreis & Overholtz, PLLC
17 E. Main Street, Suite 200
Pensacola, FL 32502
Telephone: (850) 202-1010
Email: baylstock@awkolaw.com

Plaintiffs Executive Committee

J. Gordon Rudd, Jr.
Zimmerman Reed LLP
1100 IDS Center, 80 S. 8th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone: (612) 341-0400
Email: gordon.rudd@zimmreed.com

Lexi J. Hazam
Lieff Cabraser Heimann &
Bernstein, LLP
275 Battery Street, 29th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-3339
415.956.1000lhazam@lchb.com

Troy A. Rafferty
Levin, Papantonio, Thomas, Mitchell
Rafferty & Proctor P.A.
316 S. Baylen Street, Suite 600
Pensacola, FL 32502
Phone: (850) 435-7000
Email: trafferty@levinlaw.com

Plaintiffs’ Steering Committee

Behram V. Parekh
Kirtland & Packard LLP
2041 Rosecrans Ave., Third Floor
El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone: 310-536-1000
Email: bvp@kirtlandpackard.com

Chris T. Hellums
Pittman, Dutton & Hellums, P.C.
2001 Park Place N., Ste 1100
Birmingham, AL 35203
Phone: (205) 322-8880
chrish@pittmandutton.com

George T. Williamson
99 Nesbit Street
Punta Gorda, Florida 33950
Phone (941) 639-1158
gwilliamson@farr.com

Jennifer Liakos
Napoli Shkolnik PLLC
525 South Douglas Street, Suite 260
El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone: (310) 331-8224
Email: jliakos@napolilaw.com

M. Brandon Smith, Esq.
Childers, Schlueter & Smith L.L.C.
1932 North Druid Hills Road, Suite 100
Atlanta, GA 30319
Phone (404) 419-9500
bsmith@cssfirm.com

Marlene J. Goldenberg
GoldenbergLaw, PLLC
800 LaSalle Avenue, Suite 2150
Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone: (612) 333-4662
Email: mjgoldenberg@goldenberglaw.com

Shanon J. Carson
Berger & Montague, P.C.
1622 Locust Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone: 215-875-3000
Email: scarson@bm.net

Plaintiffs’ Federal/State Liaison Counsel

Munir R. Meghjee
Robins Kaplan LLP
800 LaSalle Avenue Suite 2800
Minneapolis, MN 55402
Telephone: 612-349-8500
Email: MMeghjee@RobinsKaplan.com

Plaintiffs’ Fees and Common Benefit Fund Committee

Bryan Aylstock
Aylstock, Witkin, Kreis & Overholtz, PLLC
17 E. Main Street, Suite 200
Pensacola, FL 32502
Telephone: (850) 202-1010
Email: baylstock@awkolaw.com

Chris T. Hellums
Pittman, Dutton & Hellums, P.C.
2001 Park Place N., Ste 1100
Birmingham, AL 35203
Phone: (205) 322-8880
chrish@pittmandutton.com

Defendants’ Liaison Counsel

Larry Hill
lhill@mhw-law.com
Moore, Hill & Westmoreland, P.A.
350 West Cedar Street
Maritime Place, Suite 100
Pensacola FL 32502
Telephone: (850) 434-3541

Joint Discovery Committee

Plaintiffs
Behram V. Parekh
Kirtland & Packard LLP
2041 Rosecrans Ave., Third Floor
El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone: 310-536-1000
Email: bvp@kirtlandpackard.com

George T. Williamson
99 Nesbit Street
Punta Gorda, Florida 33950
P. (941) 639-1158
gwilliamson@farr.com

Stephen H. Echsner
Aylstock, Witkin, Kreis &
Overholtz, PLLC
17 E. Main Street, Suite 200
Pensacola, FL 32502
Phone: 850-202-1010

Stephen Hunt, Jr.
Cory Watson, P.C.
2131 Magnolia Avenue South, Ste. 200
Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone: (205) 328-2200
Email: Shunt@CoryWatson.com

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
Lauren Colton
Hogan Lovells US LLP
100 International Drive, Suite 200
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
410-659-2700
lauren.colton@hoganlovells.com

Matthew Eisenstein
Arnold & Porter LLP
601 Massachusetts Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20001
202-942-6606
matthew.eisenstein@aporter.com

Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd. & Otsuka America Pharmaceutical Inc.
(“the Otsuka Defendants”)

Luke A. Connelly
Winston & Strawn LLP
200 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10166-4193
T: 212-294-6882
LConnell@winston.com

Matthew A. Campbell
Winston & Strawn LLP
1700 K St. NW
Washington, DC 20006-3817
T: 202-282-5848
MACampbe@winston.com

Joint Settlement Committee

By January 30, 2017, the Joint Settlement Committee must propose a settlement master or inform the Court if they are unable to reach an agreement on a settlement master, in which case, each side (Plaintiffs and Defendants) should propose a settlement master.

Plaintiffs

Ernest Cory
Cory Watson, P.C.
2131 Magnolia Avenue S., Ste. 200
Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone: (205) 328-2200
Email: ECory@CoryWatson.com

Tara D. Sutton
Robins Kaplan LLP
800 LaSalle Avenue
Suite 2800
Minneapolis, MN 55402
Telephone: 612-349-8500
Email: TSutton@RobinsKaplan.com

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

Anand Agneshwar
Arnold & Porter LLP
399 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10022
212-715-1107
anand.agneshwar@aporter.com

The Otsuka Defendants
Matthew A. Campbell
Winston & Strawn LLP
1700 K St. NW
Washington, DC 20006-3817
T: 202-282-5848
MACampbe@winston.com


Share this Post: