Court Names Plaintiff's Steering Committee for Invokana MDL

invokana-warning kidney-damageUS District Judge Brian Martinotti appointed the plaintiff’s steering committee for MDL 2750 for Invokana (Canagliflozin) Products Liability Litigation in New Jersey in Case Management Order #2. A total of 100 lawsuits have been filed in the MDL since the courts created it in December.

The attorneys compose “an array of highly skilled counsel with diverse backgrounds and experience which will provide the Court with an effective committee to advance this litigation in an efficient and just manner,” the judge said. They include:

Christopher A. Seeger (Co-Lead Counsel)
Seeger Weiss LLP
77 Water Street, 26th Fl.
New York, New York 10005
Phone: (212) 584-0700
Fax: (212) 584-0799
Email: cseeger@seegerweiss.com

Michael A. London (Co-Lead Counsel)
Douglas & London, P.C.
59 Maiden Lane, 6th Fl.
New York, New York 10038
Phone: (212) 566-7500
Fax: (212) 566-7501
Email: mlondon@douglasandlondon.com

James E. Cecchi (Liaison Counsel)
Carella, Byrne, Cecchi, Olstein, Brody & Agnello
5 Becker Farm Road
Roseland, New Jersey 07068
Phone: (973)994-1700
Fax: (973)994-1744
Email: jcecchi@carellabyrne.com

Ellen Relkin (Executive Committee)
Weitz & Luxenberg, P.C.
700 Broadway
New York, New York 10003
Phone: (212) 558-5500
Fax: (212) 344-5461
Email: erelkin@weitzlux.com

Hunter J. Shkolnik (Executive Committee)
Napoli Shkolnik, PLLC
360 Lexington Avenue, 11th Fl.
New York, New York 10017
Phone: (212) 397-1000
Fax: (646) 843-7603
Email: hunter@napolilaw.com

Timothy O’Brien (Executive Committee)
Levin, Papantonio, Thomas, Mitchell, Rafferty & Proctor, P.A.
316 South Baylen Street
Pensacola, Florida 32502
Phone: (850) 435-7084
Fax: (850) 436-6084
Email: tobrien@levinlaw.com

Ashley Brittain-Landers
Schlicter Bogard & Denton, LLP
100 South Fourth Street, Ste. 1200
St. Louis, Missouri 63102
Phone: (314) 621-6115
Fax: (314) 621-7151
Email: abrittain@uselaws.com

John Gomez
Gomez Law Firm
655 West Broadway, Ste. 1700
San Diego, California 92101
Phone: (619) 237-3490
Fax: (619) 237-3496
Email: john@thegomezfirm.com

Anthony D. Irpino
Irpino, Avin & Hawkins
2216 Magazine Street
New Orleans, Louisiana 70130
Phone: (504) 525-1500
Fax: (504) 525-1501
Email: airpino@irpinolaw.com

Holly H. Dolejsi
Robins Kaplan, LLP
800 LaSalle Avenue, Ste. 2800
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402
Phone: (612) 349-8500
Fax: (612) 339-4181
Email: hdolejsi@robinskaplan.com

Danielle Ward Mason
Beasley, Allen, Crow, Methvin, Portis & Miles, P.C.
218 Commerce Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36104
Phone: (800) 898-2034
Fax: (334) 954-7555
Email: danielle.mason@beasleyallen.com

Frank M. Petosa
Morgan & Morgan, P.A.
600 North Island Road, Ste. 400
Plantation, Florida 33324
Phone: (954) 318-0268
Fax: (954) 327-3018
Email: foetosa@forthepeople.com

Jason C. Webster
The Webster Law Firm
6200 Savoy Drive, Ste. 150
Houston, Texas 77036
Phone: (713) 396-5197
Fax: (713) 581-3907
Email: jwebster@thewebsterlawfirm.com

David S. Stellings
Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein, LLP
250 Hudson Street, 8th Floor
New York, New York 10013
Phone: (212) 355-9500
Fax: (212) 355-9592
Email: dstellings@lchb.com

The Court also appointed as Co-Lead Counsel, Christopher Seeger and Michael London, and as Liaison Counsel, James Cecchi. Together, and along with Ellen Relkin, Hunter Shkolnik, and Timothy O’Brien, they comprise the PSC Executive Committee. It is the Executive Committee’s duty to coordinate the responsibilities of the PSC, schedule PSC meetings, keep minutes or transcripts of these meetings, appear at periodic court noticed status conferences, perform other necessary administrative or logistic functions of the PSC.

The Invokana litigation involves allegations that Invokana causes diabetic ketoacidosis and kidney damage, and that defendant Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Inc., which developed and manufactured the drug, failed to adequately test the drug and warn of its risks.

The JPMDL declined to include other SLGT2 inhibitors in the litigation, such as Farxiga (dapagliflozin) and Jardiance (empagliflozin). Farxiga is marketed and distributed by AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP, AstraZeneca LP, AstraZeneca AB, AstraZeneca PLC, and Bristol-Myers Squibb Co., and Jardiance is marketed and distributed by Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Eli Lilly and Company, and Lilly USA, LLC.

Invokana went on sale in 2013 to treat type 2 diabetes by inhibiting renal glucose reabsorption with the goal of lowering blood glucose. Canagliflozin is a member of the gliflozin class of pharmaceuticals, also known as sodium glucose cotransporter 2 (“SGLT2”) inhibitors.


Share this Post: